Care for up to six (6) children in your home for up to 16 hours per 24-hour period. (If you are looking to care for more children contact the State at 715-836-6762 regarding Licensing)
Reimbursement for Wisconsin Shares children
Food Program eligibility
All individuals wishing to be certified MUST complete Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS) training and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) training prior to certification or within six (6) months of certification.
Effective August 1, 2009 the state has passed a new law regarding Vehicle Safety Alarm System Requirements, “A vehicle that has a seating capacity of 6 or more passengers in addition to the driver that is owned or leased by the childcare provider, and that is used to transport children to and from the childcare provider”. If you transport children you are required to have this system installed.
Provisional Certification: This certification category is for individuals that have not yet completed the required 20 hours of early childhood education or providers that are caring only for children related to the provider (ex: grandparents). Reimbursement rate under provisional certification is at a lesser rate for Wisconsin Shares children. Once the required education is completed a provider may be promoted to Regular Certified and be reimbursed at a higher rate for Wisconsin Shares children.