|DMV license plate issuance and other services
Since 1997, the Shawano County Clerk's Office had been a DMV authorized agent for issuing temporary license plates and other services.
Effective as of April 1, 2019, the Shawano County Clerk's Office can now provide you with the following DMV products and services:
If you have purchased a vehicle from a private individual or recently moved to Wisconsin from another state, you will need to come into the County Clerk's office to title and license your vehicle. If you purchase a vehicle from a licensed dealer, they will provide the service for you.
- On line title application processing
- On line license plate renewals
- Issue license plates (metal) for cars and light trucks immediately
- Issue license plate renewal stickers immediately
When you purchase the vehicle, bring in the vehicle's title and the appropriate fees. Depending on each individual situation, you may be charged some or all of the following fees:
Title Fee: $164.50 (effective October 1, 2019). Pay the title fee if you are changing the owner(s) on the title, or titling the vehicle in Wisconsin for the first time. Pay a replacement title fee of $20.00 if you are replacing a lost, stolen, or mutilated Wisconsin title.
Taxes: If you just purchased the vehicle, you need to pay the appropriate taxes. Five percent of the sale price for Wisconsin state tax and depending on which Wisconsin county you reside in, you may be required to pay an additional one-half percent county tax.
License Plate Fee: The regular license plate fee is $85.00 (effective October1, 2019) for one year. If you purchased a truck, the fee is slightly higher based on the truck weight. If you are transferring plates from a different vehicle, you do not need to pay this fee at the present time.
Processing Fee: The processing fee is $19.50 and will be added to your fees. You will receive the metal plates immediately.
The County Clerk's office will assist customers in filling out the appropriate application and any questions they may have. Office hours are from 8:00 - 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except legal holidays
In addition to the services listed above, we have the application forms for all special plates available and will assist you in processing them. A few examples of such plates are the collector plates, personalized plates, hobbyist plates, disabled plates, veteran plates, etc.
Seller notification - After selling your vehicle to another private party, notify the DMV of the sale. The sale can be reported by submitting a Notice of Sale or a similar form. The deadline for submitting this information can range from 5 to 30 days. Failure to report the sale may result in penalties, continued notices to register the vehicle, and problems with your local tax collection agency. If you have any questions, the County Clerk's Office can be of assistance.
We look forward to serving you in the near future.