Shawano County Home Page FAQ Employment Contact Us
Font Size: a a a
COUNTY CLERK
General Information
License & Permits
- General Information
- Forms & Documents
- Boat Launching Permits
- DMV Temporary Plate Issuances
- Dog Regulation Guideline Manual
- Hunting & Fishing Licenses
- Marriage Licenses
- State Trail Permits
- Timber Cutting Permits
- Work Permits
Voting/Election Information
BACK TO ALL DEPARTMENTS
Departments » County Clerk » License & Permits
Marriage Licenses

The following requirements needed in order to obtain a marriage license in Shawano County.

This information is from our brochure, "Marriage License Information" which may be obtained from the County Clerk's office upon request. Call 715-526-9150 for more information.

SUMMARY OF STATE REQUIREMENTS/APPLICATION CHECKLIST
1 - Photo ID and proof of your Shawano County residency (i.e. Driver's License)
2 - Certified copy of birth certificate required for all applicants. Please note that hospital certificates or State Notification of Birth
Registrations are not accepted.
3 - Social Security Number (need not show actual card)
4 - Previous Marriage(s) - Death Certificate, State Annulment, or Divorce Judgment if there has been a prior marriage.
5 - Name of county and city, village or township in which you reside.
6 - Name of ceremony officiant and municipality where the ceremony will be performed.
7 - Education - the highest grade of school you have completed.

Blood tests and/or physicals are not required in order to marry in Wisconsin
Witnesses to a marriage must be 18 years of age.


WHERE TO APPLY
County Clerk’s Office, 311 N. Main Street, Room 104, Shawano WI. Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Closed weekends and legal holidays. Both applicants need to be present.

WHEN TO APPLY
Application must be made at least 5 full days before the license is to be issued, except as otherwise stated in the Wisconsin State Statutes. It is suggested that application be made at least 7 days prior to the marriage date so as to allow sufficient time to meet all requirements.

Marriage licenses will be issued 5 days after the date of application. The license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.

PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY
Blood relatives – nearer of kin than second cousins, except when the female has attained the age of 55 years. Males under 16 years of age and females under 16 years of age also may not marry.

MARRIAGEABLE AGE
Males who have attained the full age of 18 years, and females who have attained the full age of 18 years, may marry without the consent of parents or guardians.

Males and females between 16 and 18 years of age may marry with the consent of both parents or guardian.

Consent forms are available at the Clerk’s office and will be mailed upon receipt of proper information. They are to be executed by the proper parties before a Notary Public, County Clerk or Deputy Clerk.

FEE
The marriage license fee is $80.00.

WAITING PERIOD
Application for marriage licenses shall be filed at least 5 days before the license can be issued.

The waiting period may be waived by the County Clerk or Deputy Clerk, for good cause, for an additional fee of $10.00. Please call the County Clerk's office for more information regarding a waiver at 715-526-9150
Copyright © 2013 Shawano County Government - Shawano Wisconsin
311 N. Main St., Shawano, WI 54166-8724 • (715) 526-9135
Designed & Powered By DMI Studios
Legal Notice  |  Privacy Notice  |  Acceptable Use Policy  |  Linking Policy